On new romcom TV series

On new romcom TV series
Redg Camarse

A twentysomethingish girl who may or may not be on her period can only take so much episodes Bones full of gory human remains. MAMA NEEDS SOME KILIG OR OTHER FORM OF JOY TO AWAKEN HER BLACKENED SOUL EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE.

I’ve recently enjoyed two great (?!?) series lately. One of ABC’s biggest cancellation mistakes, Selfie, and MTV’s (I KNOW I HATE MYSELF) Faking It. Before you judge me, let me try to convince you why these two are worth watching.

Selfie

4.7. Which rounds up to a 5.
4.7. Which rounds up to a 5.

I watched Selfie primarily because of John Cho’s cute face. Wait, what’s that? How can I not have known Karen Gillan who played Amy Pond on Doctor Who?!? Sorry, guys, but I still have yet to watch Matt Smith play the Doctor. Should I have my fangirl license revoked now?

Karen Gillan plays Eliza Dooley, a social-media obsessed sales representative who after a highly disgusting airplane ‘accident’ involving two bags of her own vomit, sought the help of Henry Higgs, a successful and effective marketing representative, to ‘change’ her image.

The series drew inspiration from My Fair Lady (which I have yet to watch since I am an uncultured swine) so some of you might enjoy the references to the musical while watching. My friend who’ve watched the film was quick to point out though that the similarities end on the names of the characters and the premise of Eliza seeking help from Henry. Even the romance between the two characters weren’t as evident as what’s depicted in the series.

Now, if you bear through the first half of the Pilot wherein you have to adjust to Eliza’s annoying attitude toward everything then by the second half of the episode, you’ll be squeeing at this adorable scene.

AGH STOP IT
AGH STOP IT

ELIZA IN A NICE DRESS. HENRY AT A LOSS FOR WORDS. Their chemistry and dynamics are the reasons why I stuck with this show and the same reasons why I was (and still am) so so so so deeply saddened when the series got cancelled. #sad *crying emoji* *dead emoji* *gun emoji*

.
.

I was binge watching the series and was on my seventh or eighth episode when I found out that the series has been cancelled. Why, TV Gods?!?! WHAT HAVE I EVER DONE TO OFFEND YOU? All I want to see is Eliza and Henry ending up together in the most organic way possible–without it feeling forced upon the audience. WHY CAN’T THE WORLD JUST LET ME BE HAPPY EVEN WHEN IT COMES TO TV SHOWS?!?!?!

The show’s other characters started gaining a steadier footing as the series progressed. There’s still so much more to know about the weird pompous chairman of the company, Sam Saperstein. Charmonique and her son still has infinite potential story lines and I would’ve really loved for a real friendship to blossom out of Eliza and her hipster-neighbor Bryn. So many backstories to be revealed, all gone!!!

By the end of the series, Eliza and Henry (as well as Karen and John) have perfected their routine on the show that you’re left yearning for more. The ending also couldn’t have been more perfect (well, it could have been, HAD IT NOT BEEN CANCELLED): Eliza confronting her childhood nemesis and reclaiming the Eliza Dooley she lost beneath mounds of make-up and thousands of selfies and Henry finally taking a leap (literally) and now ready to put himself out there in the world.

U GO GIRL
U GO GIRL

This show is amazing and life changing for me. I MEAN, THIS SHOW HAS MADE ME LOOK AT MYSELF IN THE MIRROR AND REMINDED ME THAT I AM BEAUTIFUL AND I SHOULDN’T BE ASHAMED OF WHO I AM OR PRESSURED BY SOCIETY TO CHANGE MYSELF. JAMES FRANCO SAID IT BEST:

truer words have never been spoken
truer words have never been spoken

Faking It

FRIENDSHIP (???!?)
FRIENDSHIP (???!?)

In an alternate universe there is Hester High: a TV high school unlike any other. Here, the gays rule the school and that handsome guy who makes weird art is considered as the jock. On his quest to find the perfect lesbian friends, Shane (Michael Willett) accidentally and mistakenly outed bestfriends Amy (Rita Volk) and Karma (Katie Stevens) to the whole school which then proceeded to nominate them for homecoming queens.

Karma and Amy went along with the lesbian rumors and played gay for the school. At the end of the Pilot, after a surprise smooch complete with confetti coming down from the ceiling, Amy realizes that she might have feelings for her bestfriend. RUTROH.

Still not decided if I ship this
Still not decided if I ship this

Faking It is Awkward minus the parts I hate. There are no annoying adults (Jenna’s mom and the stupid guidance counselor), no stupid and worthless bestfriends, and all of the characters get equal screen time which paves way for great character development.

Lauren Cooper is my favorite character so far. Played by the very pretty Bailey De Young, she’s the show’s supposed antagonist. Her schemes are just the right level of evil and nothing is over the top to the point where you’d exclaim “WHO WOULD DO THAT, EVER?” I think being Amy’s stepsister doesn’t give you a lot of evil plans to choose from.

Michael Willett as Shane Harvey steals the scene every time he’s on screen as the fabulous gay guy. He’s the perfect gay best friend anyone could ever ask for. Oh yeah, and there’s also Liam Booker, the broody artsy and open-minded straight guy of the show. He’s pretty dreamy.

GUESS WHO'S WHO
GUESS WHO’S WHO

I love the fact that all of the characters in this show have grown closer to be considered as friends even if they won’t admit that to themselves. In Awkward, the merging of Jenna’s and Matty’s group never sat right with me but in this show, everyone’s part of a happy family who occasionally might humiliate each other in front of the school.

With the first season being only eight episodes long (that’s just less than three hours), this show is perfect for some lighthearted, mindless high school TV drama. Also, the finale’s so worth it and explosive that you’re bound to hit that play button on the show’s second season seconds after the credits start rolling on the first season’s finale.

And if that doesn’t convince you…

YEAH. I KNOW.
Woah. I KNOW.
One thought on “On new romcom TV series

  1. OMGosh. I loved, loved, loved Selfie as well! And I was so bummed when I found out it got cancelled after being so invested with the beautiful OTP that was HeLiza. So mad it didn’t take off, ’cause I truly believed the show had amazing potential, but nope, Selfie was too great for ABC to handle.

Leave a Reply

