Taylor Swift. 1989.

TAYLOR SWIFT 1989 TRACK BY TRACK ROUNDTABLE REVIEW

TAYLOR SWIFT 1989 TRACK BY TRACK ROUNDTABLE REVIEW

Redg Camarse, Josef Gacutan, and Randolph Pontillas
Taylor Swift. 1989.
Taylor Swift. 1989.

Coherent Fangirls are still alive! And it’s almost too fitting to talk about Taylor Swift’s newest album on our blog’s resurrection from a very long hiatus!

Taylor Swift’s 1989 is one of the best things 2014 music has given us. For this roundtable, two of my Scorpio friends and I scrutinize each song and all of the emotions evoked in us. Let’s start and let the emotions flow!

d

WELCOME TO NEW YORK

Redg: No song has ever made me feel so strongly about packing my bags, boarding a plane and just flying off to the other side of the planet.

Randolph: First beat pa lang alam ko nang sobrang ganda eh (OA) It sounded like it was lifted from some broadway soundtrack keme. Tipong ico-cover ng Glee pero walang kwenta yung cover nila as usual.

Also

Everybody here was someone else before / And you can want who you want / Boys and boys and girls and girls

Taylor Swift: New York Ambassadress, LGBT Advocate.

Josef: The album could not have opened with a better track!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am positive this song will directly affect my decisions for the next three years!!!! Alam mo yun, nakikita ko na eh, parang first five minutes ng coming-of-age movie: Earphones in while the plane lands (kahit bawal) and I look out the window and see an amazing view of New York City as the song plays —

Everybody here wanted something more / Searching for a sound we hadn’t heard before / And it said Welcome to New York / It’s been waiting for you

Ay puta. Waiting for me pala eh.

THE LIGHTS ARE SO BRIGHT BUT THEY WILL NEVER BLIND ME!!!!!!

taylorswift-1989polaroid-56

BLANK SPACE

Redg: According to Taylor’s own commentary on this song, this track started out as a joke pero naging seryoso na. I LOVE HOW SHE POKES FUN AT HERSELF ETO NA TALAGA SIGNS OF MATURITY, TAY!!!!!!!

Josef: DARLING I’M A NIGHTMARE DRESSED LIKE A DAYDREAM!!!

This is the anthem of my life. OO TALAGA INSANE AKO, BAKET?!??!

This is easily one of Taylor Swift’s best songs!!! ever!!!! The beat, the hook, is amazing. It’s about a relationship na ayun, di mo alam kung ok or not, pero keri, push ko lang.

Motto: Let’s see. I’m insane eh.

Redg: Also, this is easily the most screencappable Taylor Swift music video ever

STYLE

STYLE

Redg: My FAVORITE TRACK off this album!!!!! If I had a car and I knew how to drive this would be my default driving song. Intro pa lang eh wala na. I love the part when Taylor whispers just before the chorus AND THE WORDS!!!!

I should just tell you to leave ’cause I / know exactly where this leads but I / watch us go round and round each time”

Patayin mo na lang ako.

Randolph: First listen pa lang, I knew this would be perfect for a long drive kahit wala din naman akong kotse. Tas I listened to it while riding the MRT tangina walang pake kahit ang baho ng mga katabi ko — IT WAS A DIFFERENT EXPERIENCE.

Josef: Initially felt meh about this track (initially meaning: for the first 20 seconds)….. but the chorus is so catchy it completely makes up for the bland verses!!!!!!! AND BY THE TIME WE GET TO THE BRIDGE I AM SINGING MY LUNGS OUT AND I HAVEN’T EVEN NOTICED

A+ for the references!!!!!!

Also: “When we come crashing down we come back every time,” IS IT A GOOD THING??? IS IT A BAD THING????? THE SONG SEEMS TO MAKE IT LOOK LIKE THE FORMER AND I AM ALL UP FOR KIDDING MYSELF BECAUSE THIS SONG LOOKS AT A CYCLICAL RELATIONSHIP AT SUCH A POSITIVE VIEWPOINT

We never go out of style as opposed to PUTA ANDITO NANAMAN TAYO!!! LA VIE EN ROSE, IKA NGA

OUT OF THE WOODS

OUT OF THE WOODS

Redg: I didn’t like this song at first because of that intro. Parang, ano ba yun!??! BUT THE BRIDGE GOT ME

When you started crying, baby I did too

HUHUHUH WAWA BABY HARRY ❤

Josef: Ah weh tungkol pala to kay Harry?

Redg: YES IT WAS ABOUT THEIR SNOWMOBILE ACCIDENTACCORDING TO ROLLING STONE. And it’s also about her paranoia about their relationship na ‘looking at it now’ parang wala lang naman AKA ‘the monsters turned out to be just trees’ KASI ALAM NAMAN NIYANG WHAT THEY HAD WAS REAL

Josef: I WAS NEVER A TAYLOR SWIFT/HARRY STYLES FAN

Redg: NGAYON LANG AKO NAGING FAN HUHUHUHU de may personal feelings na akong involved dito talaga hahahahaha

Josef: Classic Redg hahaha

Ok sige – while Style is about a cyclical relationship Taylor just can’t escape THIS IS THE PART WHERE SHE FINALLY DOES!!!! SHE. IS. OUT. OF. THE. WOODS. SHE. IS. IN. THE. CLEAR.

Giiiiiirl good job ka.

The song is an acquired taste, the hook is really catchy though so: you may not like the song but the phrase “Are we out of the woods yet? Are we out of the woods yet? Are we out of the woods?” will possibly repeatedly play in your head until it convinces you that you may like this song. Not love, not obsess over, but like.

I like this song?????

Redg: I learned to love this song when I watched videos of Taylor peforming it live!!!!

Randolph: I actually loved this song the first time I heard it? Everyone was like “Girl narinig mo na yung Out of the Woods? Di ko bet.” MAGANDA KAYA

I also thought this was about /finally/ escaping from a relationship uGH JOSEF TANGINA WE R 1

ALSO WHAT’S WITH DECEMBER

Redg: I think Haylor dated around December kasi nag-kiss sila sa New York nung New Year. Tapos diba nagka-snowmobile accident so snow = winter = December

#SLEUTHINGSKILLZ

Josef: Ayaw ko sa Haylor, ayan nag-decide na ako. Ayaw.

ALL YOU HAD TO DO WAS STAY

ALL YOU HAD TO DO WAS STAY

Redg: AGH

“Let me remind you this was what you wanted / You ended it / You were all I wanted / But not like this”

AYAN PARA SA MGA NAKIPAG-BREAK TAS BABALIK-BALIK PAKYU

This is such an empowering break-up song. Para sa mga taong may pride para ‘di balikan kasi ALAM MO YUN DI TAMA EH #maturity I’m proud of you Tay!!!

Randolph: Taylor does this thing where you haven’t really experienced something pero ipaparamdam niya sayo. After hearing this song pakiramdam ko nagka-ex na ko tas sobrang tangina niyang tao.

People like you always want back the love they pushed aside / But people like me are gone forever when you say goodbye

UGH FUCK YOU, EX I NEVER HAD

Josef: Hey, all you had to do was stay / Had me in the palm of your hand / Why’d you had to go and lock me out when I let you in

Excuse me, ang perfect ko kaya, all! you! had! to! do! was! stay!!!!!! Pero leche kang kumag ka eh.

Thank you, Taylor, because this song is amazing. Mapapansin mo rin from “she wears short skirts, I wear t-shirts” nasa “but people like me are gone forever when you say goodbye” na tayo. #maturity

THANK YOU FOR SPEAKING THE WORDS I DO NOT HAVE THE COURAGE TO SAY!!!!!!!

SHAKE IT OFF

SHAKE IT OFF

Redg: Not dancing to this song should be illegal and be considered as a mortal sin.

Randolph: This is the type of song na naka-park na kayo sa parking lot but when you hear this play, di muna kayo lalabas — tatapusin niyo while singing and dancing along like fuckwits.

Josef: I love this song, so if you feel otherwise: Haters gonna hate, hate, hate, hate, hate and puta ka wala kang taste (Swift, 2014)

Randolph: Sorry Josef nung una kong narinig to mejo dinoubt ko si Taylor kasi sobrang pop and I’m not used to it???? PERO I LOVE IT SO MUCH NA OK

Josef: Ah sino ka ulit? Redg diba tayong dalawa lang nag-uusap dito

I WISH YOU WOULD

I WISH YOU WOULD

Redg: This song sums up all the things you would like to tell your ex but you can’t because you would like this crazy person BUT WALA EH ETO NARARAMDAMAN KO E BAKIT 😥 I’m not hung up gusto ko lang malaman mo to kasi alam mo yun 😦

I wish you knew that I’ll never forget you as long as I live

HUHUHUHU OO PERO IKAW KINALIMUTAN MO NA AKO

I wish we could go back / and remember what we were fighting for and I / wish you knew that / I miss you too much to be mad anymore

Josef: Probably the song I will be ugly-crying to whilst I go through a break-up.

I wish you would come back / Wish I’d never hung up the phone like I did / I wish you knew that I’d never forget you as long as I’d live

Wala akong pake kahit upbeat siya, ang sakit kaya. Huhuhuhuhuvjbvcdkjghs huhu

Randolph: I wanna have a newfound appreciation for this song kaya lang ayokong dumaan ng break-ups

Redg: It is inevitable

Josef: De, kaya yan. Wag ka nalang umibig

BAD BLOOD

BAD BLOOD

Redg: This is such a good song but I’m still not fully convinced that this is about Katy Perry. Maybe inspired by Katy but not wholly about her.

Did you have to hit me / Where I’m weak baby I couldn’t breathe baby

Katy stole dancers from Taylor Swift… yun na ba yung sobrang sakit… Feel ko may John Mayer feels din siguro to.

Josef: I believe the american tabloids when they say this song is about Katy Perry and I love Katy Perry. It feels wrong to even remotely like this song.

Redg: Wait, you don’t like this song?!? BUT WHY??????

Josef: IT FEELS WRONG BUT I LIKE IT!!! SORRY KATY PERRY I LOVE YOU STILL. Consolation naman na “like” lang, hindi love

Randolph: Ngayon ko lang na-gets kung bakit to tungkol kay Katy Perry i’M SUCH A FAKE SWIFTIE

Redg: Have you guys read the Rolling Stone article about 1989!?!?!?!? Sobrang galit si Taylor. 😦 But I love Katy too huhu I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO KATY’S REPLY TO THIS SONG

Randolph: Ah so di ‘to dahil kay John Mayer?? Bigla na lang ako nag-deduce ng kung anu-ano eh bawal ako magtrabaho sa showbiz ugh

Redg: Apparently not.

“I was like, ‘Oh, we’re just straight-up enemies.’ And it wasn’t even about a guy! It had to do with business. She basically tried to sabotage an entire arena tour. She tried to hire a bunch of people out from under me.

Josef: Gusto ko tuloy mag-sulat ng kanta tungkol dun sa mga taong aagawan ka ng taxi pag late ka na. They mah straight up enemies. TAKE A LOOK WHAT YOU’VE DONE

Josef: Oh my god may tweet daw si Katy na possibly aimed kay Taylor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Redg: OO YUNG “Watch out for the Regina George in sheep’s clothing”

WILDEST DREAMS

WILDEST DREAMS

Redg: THIS SONG!!!!!! IS!!!! THE BEST!!!! You know that someone’s bad for you but then you love them so much. You know that it’s doomed to end. Di ka naman kasi tanga pero pnush mo eh kasi mahal mo. Tas puta, gusto mo lang maalala ka niya in a nice way. Yun lang beh. YUN LANG.

Say you’ll remember me / Standing in a nice dress / Staring at the sunset babe

EVERYBODY KNOWS THIS FEELING OF WANTING TO BE REMEMBERED AT YOUR BEST AND NOT THE UGLY CRAZY MONSTER DURING THE END OF THE RELATIONSHIP. I JUST CAN’T. THANK YOU TAYLOR FOR THIS SONG THANK YOU BABY JESUS FOR CREATING TAYLOR.

Randolph: FAVORITE SONG OFF THE ALBUM OH MY GOD wala pa kong naging boyfriend kaya wala pa kong masabe about toxic relationships and shit pero there will come a time so I guess I should just say something about this track’s musicality.

Kala ko talaga this was a Lana collab kasi uhm it sounded pretty much like her???

Ayun lang pala masasabi ko tangina I need a boyfriend wala akong madagdag na relevant shit sa mga ganito eh.

Josef: Eto yung kanta na biglang nag-play nung nagd-drive ako tapos umiyak nalang ako. As in legit tears, man. Legit tears while driving along Katipunan. I love this song so much!!!!!!!!

It’s a toxic relationship but you just cannot get enough. I can see the end as it begins pero wala, teh, mahal mo eh. PERO ALAM MO NAMANG DI KAYO MAGTATAGAL KAYA TANGINA SOBRANG MATURE NG KANTANG TO.

IT’S SO HARD TO LET GO EVEN WHEN YOU KNOW IT’S FOR THE BEST AND THIS SONG JUST URGES YOU TO DO THAT BECAUSE GIIIIIIIIIIIIRL, DI TALAGA EH. PERO SOBRANG MATURE NG APPROACH KASI ALAM MO YUN, WALANG HATE, WALANG AWAY.

Parang oh tara, di na pwede eh, no hard feelings, ganun. Well, mej, except sa bridge:

You see me in hindsight
Tangled up with you all night
Burnin’ it down
Some day when you leave me
I bet these memories follow you around

OO TALAGA I HOPE THESE MEMORIES FOLLOW YOU AROUND KASI OKAY KAYA AKONG GIRLFRIEND pero ok lang na hindi na maging tayo kasi alam naman nating dalawa na hindi talaga pwede eh. ANG LUNGKOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Randolph: calm down josef

Josef: NO I WILL NEVER CALM DOWN

HOW YOU GET THE GIRL

HOW YOU GET THE GIRL

Redg: I feel like this is a fantasy of Taylor’s about how Harry will take her back and THIS IS JUST ONE OF OUR MANY SIMILARITIES! I ALSO WRITE ABOUT FICTIONAL NEVER-WILL-HAPPEN SCENARIOS ABOUT MY PAST LOVERS HAHAHAHAHA *cue in Blank Space: got a long list of ex lovers, they call me I’m insane*

May recurring theme din na ‘kisses on cheeks’ na nangyayari sa album na ‘to. Ir-reference ulit ‘to sa next track. DAMN THOSE CHEEK KISSES MUST’VE BEEN REAL GOOD

Josef: THIS SONG IS SO CATCHY ANG SARAP KANTAHIN habang umiiyak.

Remind me how it used to be / Pictures in frames of kisses on cheeks /And say you want me

Say you want me?? Ang sakit. Also: I like the ~typical romcom~ references in the first verse, di ko sure kung nagpapatawa si teh pero natawa ako.

THIS LOVE

THIS LOVE

Redg: HAIM tweeted Taylor that this is their go to song to listen to while on the freeway and that’s why like this song. Also, spot the kiss on the cheek reference!!!!!

Josef: Basta may thumbs up ng best band in the whole wide world, ok na kagad sakin. #HAIMForever

Randolph: Same

Josef: Kaso ang weird!!! Sobrang ~senti~ naman ng kantang to pang-roadtrip. Weirdo talaga Haim sisters no. BUT THAT’S WHY I LOVE THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I KNOW PLACES

I KNOW PLACES

Redg: At first, I didn’t like this song because of the intro (AH-AH-AH-AYYYYYYYYYY) but when I read an article about this being how Taylor and Harry sneak around New York trying to avoid the paparazzi.. I gave the song a second listen and I WAS LIKE OH DAMN GURL.

Randolph: OMG also went through that article damn think about it: paparazzi shit lang pero sobrang ganda ng nasulat ni Taylor. Kelan kaya susulat si Taylor ng worst jebs experience niya I’m so looking forward to hearing something like that. I LOVE YOU TAYLOR

Josef: I know places we won’t be found and they’ll be chasing our tails tryna track us down cause ah-ah-ah-ayyyyyoko ‘tong kantang ‘to talaga. Sorry Taylor!!!!! Pero oks lang, alam mo yun, di naman ako magc-cringe pag narinig ko ‘to. Saktong “ay, next song nalang”, ganun.

CLEAN

CLEAN

Redg: Randolph pointed out that the intro sounded very much like Treacherous from Red and I COMPLETELY AGREE. Pero mas maganda yung Treacherous pero THIS SONG IS GOOD TOO!

10 months sober / I must admit / Just because you’re clean / Don’t mean you don’t miss it

Thank you, Taylor for validating that my feelings of sudden nostalgia is perfectly normal! We both might be crazy but at least I’m with good company!!! Also, another Perfect Storm reference. ANO BA YAN TAYLOR STOP USING THIS!!!!!!!!

Randolph: I, too, like Treacherous better pero iba yung atake nito. Treacherous was more of a tangina-wala-akong-pake-bet-kita-eh song eh unlike this one na very much on moving on and shit.

Also

The drought was the very worst

Taylor knows the tigang struggle.

Josef: I like the lyrics, ang sarap siguro pakinggan habang nag-m-move on. Pero ang boring ng kanta. Pakinggan ko nalang ulit pag nawasak na puso ko

Update: Wait ang ganda pala

~*~

Apparently, there are no polaroids with the lyrics of the bonus tracks so please enjoy this very perfect photos of Taylor Swift

<a href="http://www.billboard.com/photos/6363509/taylor-swift-the-billboard-cover-shoot?i=538319">x</a>
x

WONDERLAND

Redg: AYOKO TONG KANTA NA ‘TO DI KO ALAM HUHUHUHU ITO LANG YUNG GUSTO KONG ITAPON NA KANTA SA ALBUM 😦 May fairytale vibe~ pa eh pero di ko talaga gusto huhuhuhu siguro acquired taste to huhu

Josef: Catchy naman???? I like the pre-chorus, ang ganda ng beat!!!!!!!!!!!! And I love the lyrics!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Saktong, yeah well di tayo nag-isip pero ang saya sa Wonderland nung andun tayo pero ayan, wala na, nabaliw na tayo, pero saktong conflicted!!!!!!!!! or it makes me feel conflicted, I’m not sure. Does that make sense?

A part of me wants to go to “Wonderland” and a part of me absolutely won’t because I’m not sure if this glorifies said relationship but THAT IS ITS CHARM BECAUSE IT’S NOT TAKING SIDES, IT’S NARRATING A STORY AND OMG ANG GANDA LANG TALAGA

You searched the world for something else to make you feel like what we had / and in the end in wonderland we both went mad

YOU ARE IN LOVE x
x

YOU ARE IN LOVE

Redg: AGHHGHGHHHHHH THIS SONG PAINTS A REALLY CLEAR PICTURE OF HOW PEOPLE REALIZE THEY REALLY ARE IN LOVE! It takes you back to when you first realized you had feeling for someone. Like, truly in love. 😦

One night, he wakes / strange look, his face / pauses, then says / you’re my best friend / You knew what it was / He is in love

YEP. THAT’S ME. I’M THAT GUY. I AM HARRY STYLES. PERO UMIIYAK AKO KASI SOBRANG EMOTIONAL KO KASI SOBRANG IN LOVE KO.

Josef: Hahahahahahahahahahahaha redg

Randolph: THIS IS WHAT TAYLOR DOES BEST yung mga ganito na “you go…” “he…” tapos sobrang vivid nung mental image???

Redg: omg TOTOO YUNG NARRATIVE EFFECT OMG LOVE STORY PA LANG TAYLOR HUHUHUHUHUHU

Josef: Ok lang huhu bakit hindi ko ‘to masyadong gusto?!?1//1//1?! The verses feel monotonous and the lyrics subpar 😦 siguro kasi hindi pa ako nakaramdam ng tunay na pagmamahal kaya di ko ‘to ma-appreciate hahahahahaha

Redg: IBA KASI KAPAG FEELING MO BEST FRIEND MO RIN YUNG SPECIAL SOMEONE MO EH. HUHUHUHUHUHUHU M Y H E A R T

NEW ROMANTICS
x

NEW ROMANTICS

Redg: I think this song is perfect for as the album’s last track. This song puts into words (and catchy tune) the whole feeling of searching, finding, and losing love. New Romantics is the new 22!!!!!

CAUSE BABY I CAN BUILD A CASTLE / OUT OF ALL THE BRICKS THEY THREW AT ME

Josef: I LOVE THIS SONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was ~ok~ initially but after I gave it a second listen, TANGINA ANG GANDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THE LYRICS ARE SO NICE AND I AGREE WITH REDG THAT THIS SONG IS PERFECT AS LAST TRACK!!!!! It ends the album on a very, very positive note. Parang, oo sige nasaktan ako pero wala. akong. pake. because i am young and wild and free!!!!

Redg: DIBAAAA TAPOS YUNG UMPISA WITH THE TRUMPETS (trumpets ba yun) PARANG WOAH ITO NA! LAST TRACK NA!!!! MAKE WAY FOR THE NEW ROMANTICS WORLD!!!!!!!!!

Randolph: *dies of excessive taylor swift feelings*

~*~

How about you? What’s your favorite song from the album and how exactly did it make you feel? Let it all out. We will understand you.

2 thoughts on “TAYLOR SWIFT 1989 TRACK BY TRACK ROUNDTABLE REVIEW

Leave a Reply

