beyonce partition

My aspiration in life would be… to be Beyoncé.

1beyonce

My aspiration in life would be… to be Beyoncé.

Beyoncé’s fifth studio album was released December last year without any warning and the Internet freaked. I was pretty impressed but I never really appreciated the album UNTIL NOW. I love Beyoncé but not in the borderline crazy addicted to her level so after not liking first few tracks on my first listen, I just chucked the record as one of those not-just-for-me albums.

My Beyoncé conversion started early June 2014. I rode a jeep playing Drunk In Love remixed with Rihanna’s We Found Love and I couldn’t get the Beyoncé’s part out of my head for the rest of the day. To cure this, I decided to listen to the whole song. This is very reminiscent of how my One Direction addiction started out. As I searched my iTunes for the track I just knew that this is the makings of an unhealthy obsession.

If you haven’t listened to Beyoncé yet you HAVE to start now. I’m telling you, the feeling of regret from not listening to a very good album earlier on is one of the worst feelings in the whole world. Here are my must-listen tracks from the album.

3beyonce

Drunk In Love (ft. Jay-Z)
This is the song that started my Beyoncé worshipping. I spent almost a week of trying to memorize the song and I’m very proud that I can now sing the entire song without having to consult AZlyrics. I’m also extremely tempted to record myself rapping this because I am a huge attention whore.

I googled Drunk In Love so much that I found out that surfboard is actually an allusion to a sex position and my friend told me that the watermelon Bey was drinking is actually semen. I have no idea if Bey meant all these things but I love her and this song all the same.

And have you seen the video? BEY AND JAY ARE SO MEANT TO BE.

the look of love
the look of love

Jealous
However, even if Bey and Jay seem like a matchmade in r&b/hiphop/rap heaven, they are also susceptible to the usual couple problems. Beyoncé’s Jealous is one of the best Selos songs I’ve heard joining Sandwich’s Selos, Katy Perry’s Wish You The Worst and The Radio Dept’s Worst Taste In Music. Yes, I have a Best Selos Songs List in my head.

There’s been a lot of articles reporting how Bey alluded to Jay-Z’s infidelity in one of her songs during their tour but I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they stay together. I genuinely think that they love each other very much. 😥 #STAYSTRONGBEY

2beyonce

Pretty Hurts

Pretty hurts, we shine the light on whatever’s worst
We try to fix something but you can’t fix what you can’t see
IT’S THE SOUL THAT NEEDS A SURGERY

Tangina, kung di ka na lang ma-empower sa kantang ‘to di ko na alam baka wala ka ng pag-asa.

Mine (ft. Drake)
I think I’m programmed to like anything Drake-related so I don’t know if my opinion is reliable right now. 😥 When I first listened to it, I thought it’s a diss-song towards Rihanna with Drake singing this is a song for a good girl because Rihanna is a good girl gone bad. 😥 As it turns out, it is in no way about Rihanna at all. It’s about Bey’s post-natal depression and marriage problems with Jay. 😥 I’m genuinely sad for Beyoncé and I’m glad Solange got to kick Jay in that elevator. (Rumor is, Solange was pissed of at Jay for cheating on her sister which is why Beyoncé just stood there as her sister went all Mr. Miyagi on Jay)

vlcsnap-2014-07-03-23h27m16s130
I LOVE YOU

Rocket and Blow
I’m going to discuss these two songs together because they both allude to oral sex which I think is AWESOME. I mean, I think the fact that Bey sings about being confident in being sexual is awesome but I also think that oral sex per se is also awesome.

Blow is an amazing walking song. You know, songs that make you feel like a runway model while walking down the polluted streets of Manila just because it’s playing on your iPod. It’s right up there with Bee Gee’s Night Fever, Britney Spears’ Piece of Me and Destiny’s Child’s Lose My Breath. (Yep, I also have a Commuting/Walking Playlist)

Blow's music video is also my favorite
Blow’s music video is also my favorite

Also, both of these songs just makes me conclude that Jay gives amazing oral all thanks to Beyoncé’s tutelage. So guys, don’t worry if you’re clueless about what to do downstairs because all you need is a good teacher.

5beyonceYonce/Partition
THIS ALBUM JUST GIVES US AMAZING INSIDE DETAILS ABOUT BEY AND JAY’S SEX LIFE. I’m glad Bey an Jay try to spice things up with a little role playing and a romp inside the limo. Also, have you seen the video for Partition? Lingerie, piano gyrating, and car groping. HOT DAMN I THINK I JUST GOT TURNED ON JUST BY WATCHING IT.

:(
😦

Superpower (ft. Frank Ocean)
This stripped down power couple song is just pure ear candy. And Frank Ocean’s part is heavenly!

Also, Beyoncé’s underboob was featured in the video. 😦

And Destiny's Child
And Destiny’s Child

 

***Flawless (ft. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie)
This is my absolute favorite off the album and the only thing that I hate about it is that it’s only 4 minutes and 37 seconds long. Including parts of Adichie’s TED talk to the songs is some powerful public service announcement shit.

PERFECTION
PERFECTION

GO AND LISTEN TO BEYONCE RIGHT NOW.

BOW DOWN
BOW DOWN
One thought on “My aspiration in life would be… to be Beyoncé.

Leave a Reply

