New Shows Summer 2014

New Shows Summer
Redg Camarse
(cross-posted from here)

This summer, I managed to watch a bunch of shows (and movies! but that’s for another post) that made me wish I can just skip sleeping and eating and just gain energy from the characters of the shows I watch. Why, life, must you get in the way of unrealistic but immensely entertaining TV? Here are some of the TV series that managed to eat up all my time for the past two (three??) months.

Orange Is The New Black (8.5/10)

TAYSTEE!!!
CHICKEN FOR THE PEOPLE. I REST MY CASE.

OITNB reminds me so much of my high school life. See, my high school shares quite a number of similarities with the federal prison in Litchfield, New York. Lesbians, homophobic authority figures, fistfights and catfights, secret lesbian sex in bathrooms, and policies that are way too extreme.1

I have a love hate relationship with Pennsatucky
I have a love hate relationship with Pennsatucky

I’m not too crazy with Piper (in fact, I hated her at the end of the first season) but I just fell in love with everybody else. The backstories of the other inmates just reels you in and keeps you hooked episode after episode.

So conflicted huhu
So conflicted huhu

1. I am not kidding. I heard that when someone got pregnant because of the JS Prom, the school decided to cancel prom and just go with a Seniors’ Dance. When one of the beds got broken during a retreat, the school decided to forgo the retreat of the last class. When the bus of one class got home very late from a field trip, they decided to not have field trips. It’s fucking absurd and hilarious at the same time.

Orphan Black (9.5/10)
TATIANA MASLANY FOR ALL THE AWARDS. Although I find myself disappointed whenever I watch interviews because all there is is Tatiana and the other minor characters. My brain expects to see different actors for each of the characters. 😥

SEESTRA x
SEESTRA x

Bones (8/10 – Naida, don’t kill me)
After years of Naida convincing (or pestering, depends on how you look at it) me to give her show a chance, I finally gave in and HOLY SHIT it’s so good. 😥 I now understand how Naida can write crazy long posts about Bones. It’s not Game of Thrones crazy good but it’s good enough for me to marathon FIVE seasons this summer. I’m already at the 7th season (I watched the first season a long time ago) but I’m currently taking a break because I finally reached my crime drama limit.

I love your love
I love your love

Also, I love Sweets! DON’T BE SO CUTE, JOHN FRANCIS DALEY.

STOP STARING AT ME YOU BEAUTIFUL CREATURE
STOP STARING AT ME YOU BEAUTIFUL CREATURE

Parks and Recreation (9/10)
Parks is my post-crime drama limit show. I watched the first five seasons with my sister and we both L O V E it. The other characters are a bit annoying at first but when they all found their niche in the show everything just works out. BEN AND LESLIE 5EVER. Also, Adam Scott is so cute 😦

i love you
i love you

Downton Abbey (99/10!!!11)
I NOW UNDERSTAND WHAT THE FUSS IS ABOUT WITH THIS SHOW. Its beautiful and romantic and dramatic and heavy and wonderful! The cast is amazing! The story is addictive! I can say that this is WITHOUT A DOUBT the best show I’ve watched this summer!!!!!! I am so excited for the 5th series. I love all of them, even the villains!! This paragraph cannot contain any more exclamation points!!!!

My current life peg is to be like Lady Mary Crawley. I want to be a witty and stubborn twenty something who only gets out of bed to eat and change clothes six times a day to entertain her numerous suitors.

LIFE PEG
I WANNA BE YOU

 

So there! I’ll try to write about the old shows I’m just keeping up with (Grey’s Anatomy!!!!!, The Mindy Project, Game of Thrones, etc) and the other shows I’ve (temporarily) stopped watching. In the meantime, YOU HAVE TO WATCH ALL THE SHOWS I TALKED ABOUT! Go watch it, for your life!

Leave a Reply

