Taylor Swift Is My Post-Hannibal Happy Pill (9 Songs That Will Convince You To Be A Swiftie)

Taylor Swift is My Post-Hannibal Happy Pill (9 Songs That Can Convince You To Be A Swiftie)
Redg Camarse

I can have a Game of Thrones marathon anytime but Hannibal just gives me the creeps. There’s just something about Will Graham unemotionally reenacting gruesome killings and creepy musical scores that gets to me. I need some serious cheer-me-upper after 3-4 episodes of crazy serial-killers and weird hallucinations. Which brings me to my gurl, Taylor Swift.

I have this love-hate relationship with my appreciation for Taylor Swift. Her dating Harry Styles, (pre-Red) slut-shaming music videos, and songs that summarizes her entire love life makes me hate her and love her at the same time.

P.S. (Please do not judge my friends, Tammy and Naida, just because TSwift is mah homie. HATE ON ME–Β I AM NOT ASHAMED THAT I LOVE TAYLOR SWIFT.)

WHY ARE YOU PERFECT
WHY ARE YOU PERFECT

The thing that completely sold me on being a TSwift fan is her new album, Red. DID YOU LISTEN TO IT? No, not just the singles she released, but the whole album in its entirety?

YOU SHOULD. For the longevity of your life, you should, I swear! Let me give you a list of songs that converted me in to being a Swiftie.

PERF
PERFRed

1. Red
This song isn’t of the emotional, meaningful and tear-jerking kind, but it’s just perfect for those long drives with the windows down and the wind through your hair. I do not own a car and don’t know how to drive but if I did, I would TOTES blast this up on full volume and sing ‘loving him was red, RE-E-E-ED… RE-E-E-ED…”

2. Treacherous

This is MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE SONG IN THE ALBUM. Now only does it showcases Taylor’s incredible vocals and guitar skeelz (I don’t know how to play the guitar so I’m easily impressed), it has the most heart-wrenching lyrics ever. The songs screams “I love you but we’re not supposed to be together but I’m thinking of you anyway” Β and “I want you to be safe so I’ll follow you home so please don’t think I’m creepy or anything” all the same time.

Put your lips close to mine, as long as they don’t touch. UGH DEAD.

Also, Taylor Swift has an acoustic version of this and it’s AMAZING.

3. I Knew You Were Trouble
Please ignore the dark Rihanna music video rip-off and pink streaks in TSwift’s hair and LISTEN TO DA MUSIC. Oh, yeah, that’s right. It’s a song that you could sing angrily to your ex whom you though was trouble when he/she walked in! BECAUSE THOSE ASSHOLES NEED A SPECIAL SONG TO BE DEDICATED FOR THEM.

4. 22
I feel like the only thing that makes this song special is because I’m turning 22 this year, so I feel like I can kind of relate (although my wild nights ended a long time ago, or so I would like to think). Also, Taylor Swift is adorable in this music video.

5. I Almost Do
This song summarizes the whole ‘I MISS YOU BUT I CAN’T CALL YOU BECAUSE THAT WOULD BE WEIRD AND CREEPY AND COMPLICATED’ feeling into sweet, sweet melodies and croons. πŸ˜₯

6. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
YEAH BITCH YOU BROKE MY HEART BUT I’M FABULOUS SO PLEASE
Enough said.

It's okay Tay, Harry just wasn't ready for your awesomeness
It’s okay Tay, Harry just wasn’t ready for your awesomeness

7. The Last Time
This song is my second-favorite (because you have to know that) off Red. The voice of Snow Patrol’s Gary Lightbody breaks my heart Every. Single. Time. I hear this song. The two personas in the song reminds me very much of Love Story from Fearless but it’s a million times better because we actually have another guy singing back to our dawg, TSwizzle.

THIS SONG IS SO HONEST I MUST INSIST YOU LISTEN TO IT.

8. Sad Beautiful Tragic
If Taylor wants the haters to stop and wants to be respected as an artist just like Justin Bieber, she should definitely release her more honest and mellow songs instead of her pop-py ones.

On second thought, she’s got tons of friends, anyway. Who cares about the haters.

9. Begin Again
This song is basically: You just went through a horrible, horrible break-up that left you friendless. You meet this wonderful guy and, suddenly, you feel like every part of you is alive again. You take 30 minutes in front of the mirror just to make sure your hair is perfect, you start sleeping well, you live more healthily… you’re at your best and it’s all because of this person AND SUDDENLY YOU REMEMBERED THAT YOU HAVEN’T THOUGHT ABOUT YOUR EX FOR A VERY LONG TIME SINCE YOU MET THIS PERSON AND NOW YOU WANT TO FALL IN LOVE WITH NEW PERSON AND HAVE BABIES.

Other songs that are amazing but doesn’t really ‘speak’ to me strongly so they didn’t make the cut (arte):
Everything Has Changed, All Too Well, The Lucky One

So there you have it, I just spent a good two hours of my life creating a blog entry for mah gurl Taylor to cleanse my Hannibal -saturated palate. NO REGRETS.

How about you? What do you do to cleanse your mood after watching something dark and disturbing? Or does a good shower do it for you? Lemme know!

hate on me hater
hate on me hater
3 thoughts on “Taylor Swift Is My Post-Hannibal Happy Pill (9 Songs That Will Convince You To Be A Swiftie)

  1. I usually watch shows like Modern Family, Community, or New Girl to saturate my emotions after watching intense shows like GoT/Homeland. Not a big Taylor Swift fan but I don’t hate her and I like her songs :] And I must admit I enjoy her new album a lot too. Hehe β™₯ this blog post.

    1. Thank you! I swear, I could be Taylor’s publicist or something. Haha. I’m so excited for Community for the next season, with Harmon back! :> I’m only on the first season of Homeland though (I know!! :() and I don’t feel the need to do/watch something light after… yet. Haha. We’ll see. πŸ˜€

      1. YES, so excited for Community too! 90% of the stress I carry is because of Carrie and Brody and now that GoT has gotten more intense than ever I can’t stand not doing/watching something right after :/ I haven’t gotten around to watching Hannibal yet but because of all the fuss on FB & Twitter I’m really getting intrigued and might start downloading it when I get enough time πŸ™‚

        I think I also only liked “22” cause I turned 22 earlier this year. πŸ˜€ Haha. Wala lang. And it’s catchy

Leave a Reply

