The Downfall of Jenna Hamilton (Awkward Mid-Season Review)

The Downfall of Jenna Hamilton
Redg Camarse

640px-Awkward_title

Awkward might not be of the dramatic and thought-provoking genre but it still makes me spew out rage rants on Twitter as if I’m Anna Camp barfing on everyone in Pitch Perfect.

This season has been particularly mediocre and disappointing and maddening. Being a strong Jake/Jenna (or JakEnna, as Tamara coined it), ending the second season with Jenna choosing Matty and then questioning it in the last few minutes of the episode was excruciating for me. WHY, JENNA, MUST YOU BE SO FICKLE-MINDED?! Yet, that last Jenna voiceover lit up a little candle for my Jake-occupied heart.

So you could imagine my eagerness when the first episode for this season premiered. Of course, MTV fucks it up and ignores the whole second-guessing storyline! Not only that, they made Jake in to this INTENSELY ANNOYING PUPPY-DOG GUY THAT DATES TAMARA WHO BECAME A HUNDRED TIMES MORE ANNOYING NOW THAT SHE’S DATING JAKE. For the love of all things sacred and holy, MTV totally changed Jake in to something Jenna wouldn’t want to have back! Thanks, for sinking that ship MTV. I hate you.

The season continued on to be very boring. The only Jake/Jenna scene that was offered up was the whole Charade Connection in episode three (A Little Less Conversation)

SUCK IT, MATTY AND TAMARA

SUCK IT, MATTY AND TAMARA

You'll be forever in my heart

You’ll be forever in my heart

I hate the fact that almost all Jake scenes are ruined by Tamara. I can’t even see what Jake sees in her! Tamara’s mission to get popular and be the It girl must be so tiring for Jake. What’s even worse, when Jake finally had the balls to stand up to Tamara, they KISS AND MAKE-UP A FEW MINUTES AFTER. What the hell was that? There wasn’t even a dramatic fight and/or conversation abut Tamara learning her lesson!

With JakEnna out of the question, Awkward’s Season 3 introduced us to Jenna’s new love interest, Collin. He’s a tall, sophisticated older guy who ISN’T EVEN GOOD-LOOKING. There is something wrong with his face, like something weird. I just can’t pinpoint it right now.

Is it possible for a face to be too perfect that it became UGLY????

Is it possible for a face to be too perfect that it became UGLY????

The only strong points of this season is the Asian Mafia storyline (MING IS SO HOT) and the mother-daughter relationship between Jenna and her mom. I think Matty redeemed himself for me when he became this poor lost boy looking for a parent’s love. LET ME LOVE YOU (loljk Jake 5evah)

I LOVE YOU AND YOUR QUIRKY HATS

I LOVE YOU AND YOUR QUIRKY HATS

Also, AM I THE ONLY ONE BOTHERED BY THE FACT THAT MATTY DOESN’T READ JENNA’S BLOG? I’d be insulted if I were Jenna! I mean, one of the nicest things you could do for your (kind of) famous blogger girlfriend is READ HER DAMN BLOG. It’s nice to be complimented by your significant other. WHY DON’T YOU READ JENNA’S BLOG, MATTY? How could you do that? Heartless.

Overall, Awkward’s Season 3 has been weak and very disappointing. Half of my excitement for the series comes from waiting when Tegan and Sara songs would play. MTV better get their shit together for the rest of the 3rd season.

ALSO, WE FUCKING NEED MORE SADIE SAXTON SCENES. STOP THE POOR-SADIE-SAXTON STORYLINE. LET HER WIN THE LOTTERY IN THE NEXT EPISODES.

YOU’RE WELCOME.

P.S. Is Jenna’s blog private? HOW CAN SHE BLOG ABOUT COLLIN AND NOT GET CALLED OUT BY HER CLASSMATES? This show makes no sense. But you know what?

DEAL WITH IT

DEAL WITH IT

3 responses to “The Downfall of Jenna Hamilton (Awkward Mid-Season Review)

  1. UGH i totally know what you mean, this season is making me so frustrated. Compared to the other seasons, this one drags on and is boring. I want more ACTION, and more LOVE. MTV RUINED IT. Anyways, I feel that Jenna got less attractive than the past seasons, it’s not something i look forward to anymore. I love your review

    • Thank you! It’s not even the lack of Jake/Jenna that makes me mad… MTV could make Matty/Jenna the most interesting thing on the show… but refuses to do so. MTV had a chance to prove that Matty/Jenna is something special with the whole Matty’s Parents Problem thing but instead we get to see how fucking sex-crazed they are instead. :'(

      Let’s just hope for a better 2nd half! :/

  2. Pingback: Why Tamara Whats-Her-Name Makes The Worst BFF Ever (Awkward Season 3 Review) | When Fangirls Talk Coherently·

Leave a Reply

